Cornwall RLFC


January Date For Challenge Cup Draws

December 20, 2022

The Betfred Challenge Cup Trophy – SWPix

Cornwall’s first ever opponents in the Betfred Challenge Cup will be revealed when the first and second round draws take place at Wembley Stadium on Thursday, January 12.

Alongside the men’s competition, the women’s draw will also take place underneath the famous arch – the venue for the finals of both competitions, which will be played as an historic double header seven months later.

The Betfred men’s Challenge Cup Final will return to Wembley in August 2023 after a two-year absence, and will be preceded for the first time by the Betfred Women’s Challenge Cup Final.

The road to Wembley is significantly different in each competition.

In the Betfred Women’s Challenge Cup, the 12 teams from the Betfred Women’s Super League – including the champions Leeds Rhinos, the 2022 Cup winners St Helens, and three new names for the competition in Leigh Leopards, Salford Red Devils and York Valkyrie – will be joined by Oulton Raidettes and Hull KR from the Women’s RL Championship, and Cardiff Demons and London Broncos from the Betfred Women’s Super League South.

The 16 teams will be drawn into four groups of four, with matches beginning on April 23, and the top two in each group qualifying for the quarter finals on June 18.

St Helens are holders of the Betfred Women’s Challenge Cup – SWPix

The Men’s Betfred Challenge Cup will kick off on the weekend of February 11-12 with 34 teams from the community game including each of the three Armed Forces, six teams from the Southern Conference League, and one each from Wales, Scotland and Ireland – with Dublin City Exiles returning to the competition for the first time since 2002.

The 17 winners will be joined in the Second Round two weeks later by 10 teams from the Impact Performance National Conference League Premier Division and 11 teams from Betfred League One – including Cornwall RLFC, as we make our debut in the competition in the club’s second full season, and Dewsbury Rams, who played in the first Wembley Final in 1929.

The 10 NCL Premier teams include a new name in Hunslet ARLFC, who have been formed through the merger of the 2022 champions Hunslet Club Parkside with Hunslet Warriors – and will join Hunslet RLFC, their professional neighbours, in the second round draw.

The first and second Round draws will both be held on January 12, and covered live, with the Betfred Women’s Challenge Cup First Round draw, on BBC Sport – with further details of coverage to follow in the New Year.

Wigan Warriors are the current Men’s Betfred Challenge Cup holders – SWPix

Tickets for the historic 2023 Betfred Challenge Cup Finals Double Header are on sale now at and fans can take advantage of an Early Bird offer of 25 per cent off all tickets, with prices from only £15 Adults and £7.50 Under 16s. 

Betfred Women’s Challenge Cup – First Round draw (16 teams)

Barrow Raiders, Bradford Bulls, Cardiff Demons, Castleford Tigers, Featherstone Rovers, Huddersfield Giants, Hull KR, Leeds Rhinos, Leigh Leopards, London Broncos, Oulton Raidettes, Salford Red Devils, St Helens, Warrington Wolves, Wigan Warriors, York Valkyrie.

Betfred Challenge Cup – First Round draw (34 teams)

Impact Performance NCL – Featherstone Lions, Heworth, Hull Dockers, Ince Rose Bridge, Milford, Myton Warriors, Oulton Raiders, Saddleworth Rangers, Skirlaugh, Stanningley, Thornhill Trojans, West Bowling, Wigan St Patricks;

British Army, Great Britain Police, RAF, Royal Navy;

Ashton Bears, Bedford Tigers, Brentwood Eels, Distington, Doncaster Toll Bar, Dublin City Exiles, Edinburgh Eagles, Fryston Warriors, Hammersmith Hills Hoists, Jarrow Vikings, London Chargers, North Herts Crusaders, Orrell St James, Rhondda Outlaws, Waterhead, Westgate Common, Wests Warriors.

Betfred Challenge Cup – Second Round draw (38 teams)

17 First Round winners

Impact Performance NCL Premier (10) – Hunslet ARLFC, Leigh Miners, Lock Lane, Pilkington Recs, Rochdale Mayfield, Siddal, Thatto Heath Crusaders, Wath Brow Hornets, West Hull, York Acorn

Betfred League One (11) – Cornwall, Dewsbury Rams, Doncaster, Hunslet, London Skolars, Midlands Hurricanes, North Wales Crusaders, Oldham, Rochdale Hornets, West Wales Raiders, Workington Town