Cornwall RLFC


Cornwall Name Squad For Challenge Cup Clash

February 8, 2024

Cornwall RLFC head coach Mike Abbott has names his 21-man squad for Saturday’s Betfred Challenge Cup round three clash against York Acorn.

Close season recruits Darcy Simpson, Chris Bannister, Jack Sander and Matt Ross are all included. Both Luke Collins and Josh Hartshorne, who recently agreed to extend their respective stays at the Memorial Ground for a third season, both make the cut.

The Choughs will be bidding for a first ever win in the Challenge Cup after narrowly losing out to National Conference League powerhouses Rochdale Mayfield 12 months ago.

Acorn ply their trade in the same division as the Lancastrians and will provide a stern test of Abbott’s side, with this the Choughs’ first competitive action of 2024.

The winners of this tie will host either Wath Brow Hornets or Stanningley in round four, over the weekend of February 24/25.

Cornwall: (from) Aaronson, Ashton, Bannister, Boots, Brown, Carter, Collins, Cullen, Dimech, Hartshorne, Lloyd, Mitchell, Nichol, Punchard, Ross, Rusling, Sander, Simpson, Trerise, Weerman, Whitton.