Cornwall RLFC

London Skolars

London Skolars

Ground: New River Stadium (5,000)
Coach: Joe Mbu
Captain: Aaron Small
Last season: 9th League 1

Head coach Joe Mbu will be out to prove the old adage wrong that in sport, you should never go back.

After previously holding the London Skolars’ reins between 2010 and 2015, Mbu returns to the New River Stadium for a second spell. He replaces previous incumbent Jermaine Coleman who left the Skolars after the 2021 season ended to take up a similar role with the capital’s other professional rugby league side the London Broncos.

Skolars supporters will be hoping that Mbu can replicate previous success he enjoyed in N22 with a club record fourth place achieved in 2013 under the tutelage of the Zaire born former London Broncos Super League star.

Mbu has lost members of the Skolar’s squad from last year across the Channel with Matt Ross joining Super League newcomers Toulouse while Max Clark and Shay North move to Montpellier.

The 38-year-old has tempered those departures with the signing of several promising youngsters from London Broncos along with veteran Jamaican international winger Daley Williams, who has top-flight experience with Salford Red Devils.

Quick Skolars facts: 

  • The club were formed in 1995 and for their first two years of existence were known as Student Rugby League Old Boys.
  • In three consecutive seasons during the early Millennium years, the Skolars played Super League opposition in the Challenge Cup – 2006 Warrington Wolves (L 0-52), 2007 Wakefield Trinity (L 4-52) and 2008 St Helens (L 0-56).

Memorial Ground: Round 10; Saturday, June 4; 3.00pm New River Stadium: Round 17; Saturday, July 30; 3.00pm